How to Clear Voicemail on iPhone 13

We often choose to save a voicemail if it contains important information. But it’s really easy to forget to delete voicemails when we don’t need them anymore, which can leave us needing to know how to clear voicemail on iPhone 13.

When you miss a call from someone important, you probably hope that they leave a voicemail message so you can see what they want.

You can listen to that voicemail message by opening the Phone app, then selecting the Voicemail tab at the bottom of the screen and playing the message.

While some of the messages that you receive might be ones that you want to keep, it’s entirely possible that you have a lot of messages that you don’t need anymore, even to the point where your voicemail box might be full.

Fortunately, you can delete all of the voicemail messages on your iPhone 13 by going to Phone > Voicemail > then tapping the Edit button, selecting all of the messages, then tapping the Delete button.

Completing those steps will move all of your voicemail messages to your deleted messages folder, where they will stay so that you can listen to them again, or you can elect to delete them permanently.

Our tutorial below provides additional information on clearing your iPhone voicemails, as well as steps on what to do if you are ready to delete all of them permanently.

How to Delete all of Your Voicemail Messages on an iPhone 13

  1. Open the Phone app.
  2. Choose the Voicemail tab.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. Select all the messages.
  5. Touch Delete.

Our guide continues below with additional information on how to clear voicemail on iPhone 13, including pictures of these steps.

if your battery is constantly running out before the end of the day, then it may be time to consider getting a portable iPhone charger.

How to Empty Your Voicemail Inbox on an iPhone (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 13 in the iOS 15.4.1 operating system. If you’re still getting comfortable with your iPhone and voicemail, then check out our guide on how to listen to voicemail on iPhone 13.

Step 1: Open the Phone app on your iPhone.

open the Phone app

Step 2: Touch the Voicemail option at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

choose the Voicemail tab

Step 3: Tap Edit at the top-right corner of the screen.

tap Edit at the top right

Step 4: Touch the circle to the left of every voicemail message that you want to delete, then tap Delete at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

how to clear voicemails on an iPhone 13

This is going to move all of the selected messages to the Deleted messages folder, where you will need to go to permanently delete those messages. The next section discusses that.

How to Permanently Delete iPhone 13 Voicemails

When you have deleted your voicemails, they get moved to the Deleted messages folder. Once they are in that folder, you will be able to interact with them like a regular message by tapping on them and playing or sharing them, or you will be able to delete them forever.

The steps below discuss removing them forever.

Step 1: Open the Phone app.

Step 2: Select the Voicemail tab.

Step 3: Choose the Deleted messages folder.

Step 4: Tap Clear All at the top-right of the screen.

touch the Clear All button

Step 5: Touch Clear All at the bottom of the screen to permanently delete the voicemails.

confirm permanent deletion of all your IPhone 13 voicemails

Our tutorial continues below with additional discussion about iPhone 13 voicemail messages.

More Information on How to Manage iPhone 13 Voicemails

The steps in our article above have focused n deleting all of your voicemail messages at once. However, if you only want to delete an individual voicemail message, then you can do that, too.

To delete a single voicemail message on an iPhone 13 you need to go to Phone > Voicemail > then do one of these three things:

  1. Tap Edit, select the message, then tap Delete.
  2. Swipe left on the message, then tap Delete.
  3. Tap the message to open it, then touch the trash can icon.

Regardless of how many voicemail messages you delete, they will always be moved to the Deleted messages folder that you see below your voicemail messages. You will need to open that folder, then tap Clear All at the top-right of the screen to permanently deleted all of your deleted voicemail messages.

If you need to change your voicemail greeting then you can go to Phone > Voicemail > then tap Greeting at the top-left of the screen. You will then be able to use either the default voicemail message, or you can record your own custom message.

Additional Sources