How to Erase Contacts on iPhone 13

Putting a contact into your iPhone is a great way to save information like phone numbers, addresses, emails, and more.

But people change numbers, they move, and they even change names. This can make your current contact information incorrect or obsolete, and you may no longer be able to reach someone with the information that you have.

Fortunately, you can manage your contacts on an iPhone 13 in a number of ways, including getting rid of contacts that you either have the wrong information for, or that you no longer have a reason contact.

You can delete an iPhone 13 contact by going to Phone > Contacts > select the contact > tap Edit > Tap Delete Contact > Tap Delete Contact again.

Now when you do any kind of searching on your device for that contact they will no longer appear in the search results.

Our tutorial below provides for information on working with the contacts on your iPhone 13 so that you can edit your contact list so that it only contains people you actually need to contact and their correct contact information.

How to Delete Contacts in iPhone

  1. Tap Phone.
  2. Choose Contacts.
  3. Select the contact.
  4. Touch Edit.
  5. Tap Delete Contact.
  6. Choose Delete Contact again.

Our guide continues below with more information on removing iPhone contacts, including pictures of these steps.

How to Get Rid of a Contact on an iPhone 13 (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 13 in the iOS 15.4.1 operating system. These steps will work on most other iPhone models, as well as most iPad and iPod Touch models.

Step 1: Open the Phone app.

tap Phone

Step 2: Choose the Contacts tab at the bottom of the screen.

select Contacts

Step 3: Select the contact that you would like to delete.

Step 4: Touch the Edit button at the upper right corner of the screen.

tap the Edit button

Step 5: Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap the Delete Contact button.

how to erase contacts on iPhone 13

Step 6: Touch Delete Contact again to confirm that you want to erase the contact from your iPhone.

tap Delete Contact

Note that you can’t recover deleted contacts, so you would need to add this contact again as a new contact in the future.

Our tutorial continues below with additional discussion on deleting iPhone 13 contacts.

More Information on How to Remove an iPhone Contact

The steps above provide you with a way to delete some of the individual contacts on your iPhone that you don’t need anymore.

But you might need to delete a lot of contacts at once if you have a work email on your iPhone and you switch jobs, or if there are a lot of contacts that were added to the device after you set up a new account on the device.

Fortunately it’s a short process to remove the contacts that are associated with an email address on your iPhone.

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Choose Mail.
  3. Select Accounts.
  4. Tap the account.
  5. Touch the button to the right of Contacts to turn it off.
  6. Tap Save at the upper right corner of the screen.

Now when you go back to your contact list, any of the contacts that were added from that account will be gone.

Our guide above instructs you to go through the Phone app to access your contacts, but there is also a dedicated “Contacts” app on your iPhone that you can use instead.

It’s usually found on the second Home screen, inside of an “Extras” folder. If you don’t see it there, though, you can swipe down on the Home screen, type “contacts” into the search field, then tap the Contacts app.

If you are deleting a contact because some of their contact information changed, then you might consider editing the contact information instead. You can do this by tapping the Edit button at the top-right corner of their contact card, then changing any of the values that appear on that screen. Once your done you can save the new information with the button at the top-right of the screen.

Additional Sources