How to Leave a Group Message on an iPhone 13

The group message feature on your iPhone 13 can be a great thing. It allows you to quickly communicate with several people at once, which is ideal for planning events, or simply keeping your friends or family up to date on your life.

But some group messages can be really active, or life circumstances might have changed and you don’t need to be a part of that conversation anymore.

Fortunately, you have the ability to leave a group message conversation that you are a part of so that you don’t see the messages from that conversation anymore.

You can leave an iPhone 13 group text message by opening Messages, choosing the text, tapping the group text name, then touching Leave this Conversation, then Leave Conversation again to confirm.

Now any messages that other people in the group send to the conversation won’t be shown on your iPhone.

Our tutorial continues below with additional information on group messages, as well as some other things that you may want to try or consider before leaving the conversation completely.

How to Remove Yourself from an iPhone Group Text

  1. Open Messages.
  2. Choose the text.
  3. Tap the group name.
  4. Select Leave this Conversation.
  5. Touch Leave Conversation.

Our guide continues below with more information on leaving iPhone group texts, including pictures of these steps.

How to Exit an iPhone 13 Group Text Message (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 13 in the iOS 15.4.1 operating system.

Step 1: Open the Messages app.

open Messages

Step 2: Choose the group message conversation that you want to leave.

Step 3: Touch the group name at the top of the screen.

select the group name

Step 4: Touch the Leave this Conversation button.

how to leave a group message on an iPhone 13

Step 5: Tap Leave Conversation to confirm that you want to leave the group text.

confirm leaving the group message

Our tutorial continues below with more information on iPhone group text message conversations.

More Information on Leaving iOS Group Texts

When you leave a group text message conversation there is going to be a message that appears in that conversation to let the rest of the group know that you have left.

if you are leaving because there are too many messages, but you don’t want the group to know you’ve left, then you should try hiding alerts instead.

You can hide alerts for a group text message on an iPhone 13 by opening the swiping to the left on the message conversation and tapping the bell icon. Alternatively, you could tap the Hide Alerts button that appears above the Leave this Conversation button when you tap the name of the group message.

If you have hidden alerts for an iPhone message conversation in iOS 15 then you will see a little bell icon with a diagonal line through it to the right of the conversation in your message conversation list.

If you have a lot of group messages that involve the same slightly different combinations of people, then you might want to try changing the name and photo of the group message to make it easier to identify the conversation. You can do this by tapping the group name at the top of the conversation, then tapping the Change Name and Photo button at the top of the menu.

Additional Sources