How to Turn off Location Services on an iPhone 13

Many of the apps on your iPhone are going to want access to some of the other features on the device.

This could be a social media app that wants to use your camera so that you can take and share pictures, or it could be a voice recording app that wants access to your microphone.

But perhaps the most common permission request is for an app to use your location.

Many apps work best when you give the app permission to use your location. These include things like Maps apps that need to be able to give you accurate directions, or apps where you can place and pick up orders that need to know when you have arrived at the location.

But other apps might request or have access to your location and you aren’t using the app in a way where sharing your location is useful or necessary.

Fortunately, your iPhone gives you control over which apps have location access, and you can even turn it off for all of them.

To completely turn off Location Services on your iPhone 13 go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > tap the button next to Location Services, then choose Turn Off.

Once you have disabled that feature none of the apps on your iPhone will be able to use your device’s location unless you go back into the Privacy menu and restore access.

Our tutorial below will provide you with additional information on your iPhone’s Location feature.

How to Stop All iPhone 13 Apps from Using Your Location

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Select Privacy.
  3. Choose Location Services.
  4. Turn off Location Services.
  5. Select Turn Off.

Our guide continues below with additional information on changing the Location Services setting on your iPhone, including pictures of these steps.

Is There a Way to Shut Off Location on My iPhone 13? (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 13 in the iOS 15.4.1 operating system.

Step 1: Open the Settings app on your iPhone.

tap Settings

Step 2: Scroll down and choose the Privacy option.

choose Privacy

Step 3: Touch the Location Services button at the top of the screen.

select Location Services

Step 4: Tap the button to the right of Location Services.

tap the button next to Location Services

Step 5: Select Turn Off at the bottom of the screen to confirm that you want to turn off Location Services completely.

how to turn off Location Services on an iPhone 13

Our tutorial continues below with additional discussion about the location option on your Apple smartphone.

More Information on Enabling or Disabling the Location Services on an iPhone 13

When you tap the confirmation button to turn off the location services on your device there is going to be a sentence on there letting you know that some personalized options features can still use location. What it says is:

  • Location Services will be disabled for all apps, but your personalized Location Services settings for apps will be temporarily restored if you use Find My iPhone to enable Lost Mode

Basically, this means that if your phone is lost or stolen and you use the “Find My iPhone” service then it will turn the Location Services back on to allow that function to operate properly.

If you don’t want to turn off location services for every app on your iPhone then you can also choose to enable or disable it for individual apps on your device instead.

If you scroll down on the Location Services menu you can tap the button to the right of an app if you want to turn on or turn off Location Services for that app.

On this menu, there is also a “Share My Location” button. If you tap that you can see whether the Find My iPhone feature is enabled, as well as whether or not you have elected to share your location with any friends or family members.

Additional Sources