How to Save Location with Pictures on a Google Pixel 4A

The pictures that you take with the default camera app on your Google Pixel 4A can be easily shared with others through the Messages app or in an email.

You can also upload them to a number of different photo-sharing sites and social media services.

You may have noticed that some of the pictures that you see others upload will include information about where the picture was taken.

In a lot of cases this isn’t something that the user included themselves, but rather information that was provided because it was saved as part of the image itself.

You can choose to save location with your Google Pixel 4A pictures by opening the Camera app, tapping the down arrow, selecting the gear icon, then turning on the Save location setting.

You will be able to enable the location for all of the pictures you take or just on a per-image basis if you would like to save location data with your images.

Our article below contains more on this setting and how you can turn it on or off as needed.

How to Include Picture Location on a Pixel 4A

  1. Tap the Camera icon.
  2. Touch the down arrow.
  3. Select the gear icon.
  4. Tap the Save location switch.
  5. Choose an option, then select OK.

Our guide continues below with additional information on changing the location data setting on your Pixel camera, including pictures of these steps.

How to Enable or Disable Location Information on a Google Pixel 4A Picture (Guide with Pictures)

the steps in this article were performed on a Google Pixel 4A in the Android 11 operating system.

Step 1: Open the Camera app.

tap the Camera icon

Step 2: Touch the downward-facing arrow at the top of the screen.

tap the down arrow

Step 3: Tap the gear icon at the bottom-right of this menu.

touch the gear icon

Step 4: Tap the button to the right of Save location.

tap the Save location switch

Step 5: Choose the desired location setting, then tap OK.

how to save location for pictures on a Google Pixel 4A

The options for the camera location settings are:

  • While using the app
  • Only this time
  • Deny

Our tutorial continues below with additional discussion about enabling or disabling location for the Camera app on your Android smartphone.

More on the Android 11 Camera Location Setting

While there are a lot of useful things that you can do with the apps on your phone when there is picture location information, you can also run into security and privacy issues when you upload those files to places online.

The location data is included as metadata on the image, and there are a number of different tools that can use this information to identify things about that image.

You can change the location settings for some of the other apps and services on your phone by going to Settings > Location > then adjusting the settings there. For example, you could choose to block every app on your phone from using your location if you tap the toggle at the top of the screen next to “Use Location.”

If you wanted to control this setting for individual apps then you could select the “App access to location” option and then choose which apps have location access there.

Additional Sources